2009 Nebula Award Nominees from Semiprozines

The 2009 Nebula Awards ballot is now available and includes the following works originally appearing in semiprozines:

Short Story

  • Non-Zero Probabilities” by N. K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld, November 09)
  • Spar” by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, October 2009)



Congratulations to Clarkesworld, Interzone, Nora, Kij, Eugie and Jason!

Semiprozines & the 2009 Aurealis Awards

The winners of the 2009 Aurealis Awards* were announced at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane on January 24th, 2010. Semiprozines were well-represented among the winners:

Best Science Fiction Short Story

Best Fantasy Short Story (joint winners)

* The Aurealis Awards are for works of speculative fiction by authors, editors and illustrators, who are Australian citizens or permanent residents.

2009 Aurora Award

Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine won the 2009 Aurora Award in the category Best Work in English: Other. Editor Karl Johanson and art director/assistant editor Stephanie Johanson both attended the Aurora Awards Banquet, held at Anticipation, The 67th World Science Fiction Convention, in Montréal, Québec, Canada. For more information about the Aurora Awards go to www.prix-aurora-awards.ca

BFA Shortlist and Semiprozines

The shortlist for this year’s British Fantasy Awards has been announced and voting is now open between now and the 1st of August. Semiprozines are represented in the following categories:


  • “All Mouth”  by Paul Meloy, Black Static 6, Ed. Andy Cox – TTA Press
  • “Winter Journey” by Joel Lane, Black Static 5, Ed. Andy Cox – TTA Press


  • “Mutant Popcorn” by Nick Lowe,  Interzone – TTA Press


Ditmar Awards and Semiprozines

The Ditmar Awards have been awarded at the Australian National Science Fiction conventions since 1969 in order to recognise achievements in Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror.

Nominees and Winning Stories from Semiprozines

Best Novella

Best Short Story

2008 BSFA Award and Semiprozines

The BSFA Awards are presented annually by the British Science Fiction Association, based on a vote of BSFA members and – in recent years – members of the British national science fiction convention (Eastercon). Although semiprozines weren’t represented in this year’s winners, they were a few on the short list and several nominated works.


Best Short Fiction
Crystal Nights” by Greg Egan (Interzone 215)
Little Lost Robot” by Paul McAuley from (Interzone 217)

Best Artwork
Cover of Interzone 218 by Warwick Fraser Coombe

Nominated for Best Short Fiction

  • “[a ghost samba]” by Ian McDonald (Postscripts 15)
  • “A Brief Guide to Other Histories” by Paul McAuley (Postscripts 15)
  • A Buyer’s Guide To Maps Of Antarctica” by Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld 20)
  • Automatic Swan, Fusion Heart” by James Targett (Hub 69)
  • “Butterfly, Falling at Dawn” by Aliette De Bodard (Interzone 219)
  • “City of the Dead” by Paul McAuley (Postscripts Summer 08)
  • “Crystal Nights” by Greg Egan (Interzone 215)
  • “Greenland” by Chris Beckett (Interzone 218)
  • “His Master’s Voice” by Hannu Rajaniemi (Interzone 218)
  • “How To Make Paper Airplanes” by Lavie Tidhar (Interzone 216)
  • “I Can’t Look at the City” by Jim Stewart (Apex 12)
  • Jimmy’s Roadside Cafe” by Ramsey Shehandeh (Strange Horizons 6/30/08)
  • Ki Do (The Way of the Trees)” by Sarah Thomas (Strange Horizons 3/31/08)
  • “Legolas Does the Dishes” by Justina Robson (Postscripts 15)
  • “Little Lost Robot”  by Paul McAuley (Interzone 217)
  • Night Bird Soaring” by T.L. Morganfield (GUD 3)
  • “Pseudo Tokyo” by Jennifer Linnaea (Interzone 214)
  • “Rat Island” by Chris Beckett (Interzone 218)
  • “Talk Is Cheap” by Geoff Ryman (Interzone 216)
  • “The Best of Both Worlds” by Brian Stableford (Postscripts Summer 08)
  • “The Fantasy Jumper” by Will McIntosh (Black Static 3)
  • “The Imitation Game” by Rudy Rucker (Interzone 215)
  • “The Invisibles” by Elisabeth Vonarburg (Interzone 216)
  • The Magician’s House” by Meghan McCarron (Strange Horizons 7/14/08)
  • “The Right People” by Adam Rakunas (Futurismic 10/08)
  • “The Rising River” by Daniel Keysen (Black Static 5)
  • “The Scent of Their Arrival” by Mercurio D Rivera (Interzone 214)
  • “The Ships Like Clouds, Risen by Their Rain” by Jason Sanford (Interzone 217)
  • We Love Deena” by Alice Sola Kim (Strange Horizons 2/11/08)
  • “When Thorns are the Tips of Trees” by Jason Sanford (Interzone 219)

Semiprozines in the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History

sidewiseThe 2008 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History finalists for Best Short-Form Alternate History were recently announced and two of the final six were from semiprozines:

The winners will announced at Anticipation, the 67th World Science Fiction Convention, the week of August 6-10, 2009, in Montréal.