Albedo One

Established: 1992albedoone
Editors: John Kenny, Frank Ludlow, David Murphy, Roelof Goudriaan and Bob Neilson. Contributing Editors Juliet E. McKenna, Mike O’Driscoll, Dev Agarwal, Andrew McKenna (no relation) and David Conyers.

Albedo One is a speculative fiction magazine from Ireland that features short stories by new and established writers, author interviews, commentary and book reviews. We are currently reviewing our payment policy and attempting to encourage better writers into the fold but it is difficult out here on the very edge of civilization (Ireland) to make ends meet especially with charges for postage to the rest of the world (outside Ireland) is due to rise to over four euro for one copy.

Over the past sixteen years, we have featured stories from authors like  Anne McCaffrey, Brian Stableford, Liz Williams, Steve Rasnic Tem and David D. Levine. Our interviews have always generated great interest as we have covered the great and the good from Julian May and J.G. Ballard in our first couple of issues, through Terry Pratchett and Lois McMaster Bujold to Raymond E Feist, Alastair Reynolds and Ellen Datlow in the last couple.

Recently, we’ve begun to focus on European writing and translation from other languages. Our current issue features a Breton story translated by an Irish poet and we plan to feature the best German language story of 2008 in our next issue. Our plan is to  follow this with a French story and (probably) one from Holland. We have always been aware of our Irish and European roots and attempt to feature fiction from these regions whenever possible.

Awards and Recognition:
Since 1997, we have won four European SF Society awards. Along with numerous honorable mentions, stories published in Albedo One have also been selected for Gardner Dozois’ Year’s Best SF anthology.

Other Items of Interest:
We have published, under our Aeon Press imprint, a novel, a graphic novel, several single author short story collections, and a Best of Irish Spectulative Fiction entitled Emerald Eye.

The Aeon Award, our international short story contest, is currently in its fourth year and offers a  top prize of 1000 euro. The winner of the contest is selected by internationally-acclaimed writer Ian Watson.


Information provided by Bob Neilson.